Stony Landing Plantation
The Stony Landing Plantation House was built circa 1843 by the Charleston merchant, John H. Dawson, who acquired the land in 1839. The house was a great contrast to the more elegant homes built along the Cooper River in those days. It was a small house with no wainscoting and was noted for its simplicity.
Available for special events and weddings.
By 1861, during the Civil War, the property was in the possession of Dr. St. Julien Ravenel of Charleston. Ravenel was noted for his scientific endeavors, as well as for being a physician. He gave up his medical practice, however, and devoted his time to chemical and plant research.
This led him to the discovery of limestone application in soil, a discover far in advance of its time. Ravenel is given most of the credit for promoting the construction of the CSS David or Little David, which was constructed in total secrecy at Stony Landing.
A closer look at the underside of the house shows the original hand-hewn timbers that were used to construct the house. The house was built up on eight-foot brick pillars and was very often used for picnics. Children at these gatherings played with several small cars on wheels formerly used by the brick manufacturing company located of the premises.
The house is furnished with period reproduction furniture and is open for tours.
Old Santee Canal Park
900 Stony Landing Road
Moncks Corner, SC 29461